Home » Yerevan State University

Yerevan State University

Yerevan State University

Number of students: 9,850
Founded: May 16, 1919
Undergraduates: 8,500
Academic staff: 1,190
Postgraduates: 1,350

Yerevan State University is the oldest continuously operating public university in Armenia. Founded in 1919, it is the largest and most prestigious university in the country. It is thus informally known as Armenia’s “mother university”. Of its 3,150 employees, 1,190 comprise the teaching staff which includes 25 academicians, 130 professors, 700 docents (associate professors), and 360 assistant lecturers. The university has 400 researchers, 1,350 post-graduate students, and 8,500 undergraduates, including 300 students from abroad. Instruction is in Armenian, but instruction in Russian and English for foreign students is arranged according to need. The academic year is from September 1 through June 30.

Departments: History, Armenian Philology, Chemistry, Physics, Economics, Mathematics and Mechanics, Biology, Geography and Geology, Law, Russian Philology, Oriental Studies, Journalism, Philosophy and Psychology, Informatics and Applied Mathematics, Radio physics, Sociology, Romano-Germanic Languages, International Relations, Theology.